General Surgery Section Visitors

Professor Fred Luchette

Maywood, USA

Professor Fred Luchette MD, MSc, FACS, FCCM is the Vice Chair, VA Affairs and Professor of Surgery at Loyola University of Chicago Stritch School of Medicine Department of Surgery. He is also Chief of Surgical Services, Edward Hines Jr. Veterans Administration Department of Surgery in Hines, Illinois. He received his MD from the University of Loisville School of Medicine, Kentucky and completed his General Surgery Residency at State University of New York, Buffalo Health Sciences Centre. In addition to being board certified in General Surgery, he is also certified in Surgical Critical Care and is an instructor for Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS), Advanced Trauma Operative Management (ATOM) and Advanced Surgical Skills for Exposure in Trauma (ASSET). Professor Luchette is the editor of the textbook Geriatric Trauma and Critical Care. He has also written over 40 book chapters, 150 peer reviewed journal articles and given numerous presentations on a wide range of topics in General Surgery, Trauma  and Surgical Critical Care. He is currently on the editorial committee of “The American Surgeon”, “The Open Emergency Medicine Journal”, and “The Journal of Intensive Care Medicine”. Dr Luchette has served as a director of the American Board of Surgery. He is a current member of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Review Committee for Surgery and serves on many other committees governing scientific research, surgical education, trauma, critical care and general surgery. He is actively involved in clinical and research fellowship training and his clinical practice includes abdominal wall reconstruction, hernia re air, biliary surgery, gastro-intestinal surgery and emergency surgery.

Assistant Professor Caroline Reinke

Charlotte, USA

Dr Reinke is an Assistant Professor of Surgery at Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, NC. She is an MIS-trained general surgeon with an elective and emergency general surgery practice. She is also an active researcher, with interests in surgical quality improvement and pragmatic clinical trials. Dr Reinke leads the Carolinas HealthCare System NSQIP  Collaborative, a 15-hospital quality collaborative with hospitals throughout North and South Carolina. She has received the Gordon P. Buzby Award for leadership and the Jonathan E. Rhoads Research Award from the University of Pennsylvania Department of Surgery. She earned her bachelor’s degree and medical degree from Duke University, her master’s degree in Public Health at the University of North Carolina, and her master’s degree in Health Policy Research at the University of Pennsylvania. She completed her surgical training at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and her MIS Fellowship at Duke University.

Mr Andrew Luck


Andrew Luck is a colorectal surgeon at the Lyell McEwin Hospital (LMH) and in private practice in Adelaide’s north. He is a past Head of the LMH Colorectal Unit and LMH Director of Surgical Services. Andrew is a former President of the Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSSANZ) and Chairman of the CSSANZ Research Foundation. He is a current member of the Australian and New Zealand Training Board in Colorectal Surgery.
Andrew has been heavily involved in colonoscopy and colorectal cancer Guideline and committee work, having been a member of the Conjoint Committee for the Recognition of Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, the National Bowel Cancer Screening Program Advisory Group and Quality Working Group for Colonoscopy, the Nurse Endoscopy Working Group and the National Endoscopy Training Initiative. He has been a member and chapter chairman for the Australian Colorectal Cancer Guidelines in 2005, 2011 and 2018 and is serves as faculty on Australian Train the Colonoscopy Trainer courses.
Andrew’s clinical and research interests include the management of rectal cancer, the use of minimally invasive techniques in colorectal surgery, the management of complex anorectal sepsis and fistula disease and fostering improvements in the technique and training of colonoscopy.

In 2017 Andrew was honoured with Honorary Life Membership of the Gastroenterological Society of Australia and in 2018 received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the Australia Day honours, for services to medicine in the field of colorectal surgery.